The Harley-Davidson Riders Club Great Britain  


Go Back   The Harley-Davidson Riders Club Great Britain > Serious Discussion > Computer Q & A Tips/Advice & Security

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2006, 12:56 PM
dpb-RK's Avatar
dpb-RK dpb-RK is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,296
Phantom Email

Lately my computer has been sending the same Email to Molan. it just says 'February price' and has an attachment,( Molan has not opened this attachment)

I have scanned my pooter half to death. Symantec Viruscan for virus and spyware, AOl Spyware protection, Ad Aware SE and a thingy called Windows KB which searches for Malware.
Apart from the the usual tracking cookies and other nuisance bits and bobs which the scans bring to light and delete I can find nothing out of the ordinary.
Last night I deleted Molans Email address from my Address book, his message to me this morning was 'yep' another one this morning.
My question is of course 'What the F£$% is going on and how do I stop it?'
As far as I know Mo is the only recipient of these rogue Eees, unless of course someone tells me different.
I would be grateful for any help in this matter. So far Mo has been very patient but that patience has got to be wearing thin
__________________
Computers don't make errors-What they do, they do on purpose. byeeeeeeeeeee dpb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2006, 02:18 PM
dpb-RK's Avatar
dpb-RK dpb-RK is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,296
Re: Phantom Email

To follow up. I managed to talk (on-line) to AOL, Sujith, oh well, they told me to re-install AOL. I have done so. Now I wait for Moley to call
__________________
Computers don't make errors-What they do, they do on purpose. byeeeeeeeeeee dpb
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2006, 09:14 PM
usabear
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Phantom Email

One possible solution for Molan would be to have any emails from you treated as spam by his server. Not the best of solutions, but you would still be able to converse through PMs, so it wouldn't totally cut off communications.

From your side, Dave, it does sound like you have a worm/virus. I use McAfee, and have not had any problems so far. You'll probably get some negative comments on AOL services, as usual, but here's hoping that the reload will eliminate the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2006, 12:52 AM
llew's Avatar
llew llew is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 805
Re: Phantom Email

Try this site, tells you all about the "Febuary Price" virus and includes removal instructions, might be other tools out there just search on Google.

http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_138366.htm
__________________
As easy as 3.1415926535897932384626433832795…
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2006, 03:18 AM
dpb-RK's Avatar
dpb-RK dpb-RK is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,296
Re: Phantom Email

Cheers llew, I have just been thru 17 pages of 'February price' removal instructions. I have found no trace of the virus, have looked in 'hosts', completed another 'full system' scan and followed the registry paths to where alterations should have been.

Whats going on
__________________
Computers don't make errors-What they do, they do on purpose. byeeeeeeeeeee dpb
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2006, 10:39 AM
Roger's Avatar
Roger Roger is offline
Webmaster
Committee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,069
Re: Phantom Email

Are you sure that it's you sending the Emails. Most of this type are actually remotely sent be rogue emailers using your name. You need to look at the message source to determine where it really came from.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2006, 11:02 AM
dpb-RK's Avatar
dpb-RK dpb-RK is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,296
Re: Phantom Email

Thanks Roger, I have in the last few mins realised that this must be the case (hopefully) having just about exhausted the scanning options and myself. I do not quickly cry 'it's not me' but in this case ......... .

I'll speak to Moley later
__________________
Computers don't make errors-What they do, they do on purpose. byeeeeeeeeeee dpb
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:05 PM
grumpygit
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Phantom Email

In Llew's link it says that the email "spoofs" the sender's name - so it's unlikely that it actually came from you
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:41 PM
usabear
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Phantom Email

Quote:
Originally Posted by grumpygit
In Llew's link it says that the email "spoofs" the sender's name - so it's unlikely that it actually came from you
That's the other possibility. If it's a spoof, then I would assume that if Molan labelled it Spam, this would not have an effect on any emails Dave would actually send to Molan? Also if Molan displays the details of the messages being sent, wouldn't he be able to detect the spoof when compared with the details of an actual email from Dave? Then I would assume he could take action (if he wanted to) against the person doing the spoofing through the server?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:51 PM
dpb-RK's Avatar
dpb-RK dpb-RK is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,296
Re: Phantom Email

Quote:
Originally Posted by usabear
Then I would assume he could take action (if he wanted to) against the person doing the spoofing through the server?
I'll be the one taking the action Mr Bear
__________________
Computers don't make errors-What they do, they do on purpose. byeeeeeeeeeee dpb
Reply With Quote
Reply

« - | Olympic Torch Hoax »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:03 AM.


The Harley-Davidson Riders Club of Great Britain

The Harley Davidson Riders Club Great Britain has no official connection to the Harley-Davidson Motor Company, we just ride their motorcycles and support the brand. All trademarks are acknowledged

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0