The Harley-Davidson Riders Club Great Britain  


Go Back   The Harley-Davidson Riders Club Great Britain > Serious Discussion > Computer Q & A Tips/Advice & Security

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24-03-2006, 01:07 PM
S.T.Chapman S.T.Chapman is offline
Hangout Associate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,657
firewall's

reasons for maintaining your firewall.
this joker has attempted to hack this computer three times this week alone.
I wonder what they wanted?
anyway feel free to make use of any of the info below and do with as you see fit


OrgName: Internet Assigned Numbers Authority
OrgID: IANA
Address: 4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 330
City: Marina del Rey
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 90292-6695
Country: US
NetRange: 224.0.0.0 - 239.255.255.255
CIDR: 224.0.0.0/4
NetName: MCAST-NET
NetHandle: NET-224-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType: IANA Special Use
NameServer: FLAG.EP.NET
NameServer: STRUL.STUPI.SE
NameServer: NS.ISI.EDU
NameServer: NIC.NEAR.NET
Comment: This block is reserved for special purposes.
Comment: Please see RFC 3171 for additional information.
Comment:
RegDate: 1991-05-22
Updated: 2002-09-16
OrgAbuseHandle: IANA-IP-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Number
OrgAbusePhone: +1-310-301-5820
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@iana.org
OrgTechHandle: IANA-IP-ARIN
OrgTechName: Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Number
OrgTechPhone: +1-310-301-5820
OrgTechEmail: abuse@iana.org

oh and they dont like replies

The message could not be sent because one of the recipients was rejected by the server. The rejected e-mail address was 'abuse@iana.org'. Subject '', Account: 'mail.harley-davidson-riders.org.uk', Server: 'mail.harley-davidson-riders.org.uk', Protocol: SMTP, Server Response: '503 This mail server requires authentication when attempting to send to a non-local e-mail address. Please check your mail client settings or contact your administrator to verify that the domain or address is defined for this server.', Port: 25, Secure(SSL): No, Server Error: 503, Error Number: 0x800CCC79
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-03-2006, 05:53 PM
usabear
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: firewall's

IANA does exist, but it's not clear why they would be interested in your computer. IANA is not an ISP.

You can check out IANA here:
http://www.iana.org/

Wikipedia also has an article on IANA:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interne...bers_Authority

Issues of abuse are addressed by IANA here:
http://www.iana.org/faqs/abuse-faq.htm

On the above page, you might check the paragraph titled:
Hints for Finding a Person Responsible for a Given IPv4 Address
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-03-2006, 04:41 PM
robbiemac's Avatar
robbiemac robbiemac is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 707
Re: firewall's

You getting whacked from a Multicast address?

probably not who it is supposed to be, spoofed IP perhaps.
__________________
90' FLHS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-03-2006, 01:03 PM
S.T.Chapman S.T.Chapman is offline
Hangout Associate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,657
Re: firewall's

the latest is from china
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-03-2006, 06:18 PM
Hawkeye's Avatar
Hawkeye Hawkeye is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,619
Re: firewall's

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.T.Chapman
the latest is from china

see you have friends all over the place, even ones you dont want
__________________


Harley Davidson::::: The most efficient way to turn gasoline into noise without the side effect of creating horsepower.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-03-2006, 12:39 AM
BaZaŽ's Avatar
BaZaŽ BaZaŽ is offline
Assistant Webmaster
Hon Vice President 2008/9
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 27,588
Re: firewall's

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.T.Chapman
the latest is from china
There is a bit of a slant on this topic....



Taxi..
__________________
BaZaŽ
Region 13 CentralSth Rep
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:43 AM.


The Harley-Davidson Riders Club of Great Britain

The Harley Davidson Riders Club Great Britain has no official connection to the Harley-Davidson Motor Company, we just ride their motorcycles and support the brand. All trademarks are acknowledged

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0