The Harley-Davidson Riders Club Great Britain  


Go Back   The Harley-Davidson Riders Club Great Britain > Serious Discussion > Computer Q & A Tips/Advice & Security

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17-11-2006, 10:14 AM
Justcruising's Avatar
Justcruising Justcruising is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 368
Angry Warning virus

Everybody, be aware I was sent this by a reliable sourse. ;)
Andy

Subject: Virus Warning

Be alert during the next few days: Don't open any message with an
attached file called "Invitation", regardless of who sent it. It's a
virus that opens an Olympic Torch that "burns" the whole hard disk of
your computer. This virus will come from someone who has your e-mail
address; that's why you should send this e-mail to all your contacts.
It's better to receive this message 25 times than to receive the virus


This is the worst virus announced by CNN, it's been classified by
Microsoft as the most destructive virus ever. The virus was discovered
by McAfee yesterday, and there's no repair yet for this particular
virus. It simply destroys the Zero Sector of the Hard Disk, where vital
information is kept.

Also:- Emails with pictures of Osama Bin-Laden hanged are being sent and
the moment you open these emails your computer will crash and you will
not be able to fix it! This e-mail is being distributed through
countries around the globe, but mainly in the US and Israel. Don't be
inconsiderate; send this warning to whomever you know. If you get an
email along the lines of "Osama Bin Laden Captured" or "Osama Hanged"
don't open the attachment.
__________________
01 Lowrider. Its a black one.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-11-2006, 01:22 PM
RobK's Avatar
RobK RobK is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 553
Re: Warning virus

it's a hoax

http://www.sophos.com/security/hoaxes/olympic.html

Cheers,
Rob.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-11-2006, 07:18 PM
midget's Avatar
midget midget is online now
Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Re: Warning virus

have a look at this web site http://www.symantec.com/enterprise/s...022115-0852-99
this is a site you have to look at before having a panic.however never open a attatchment from someone you do not know .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:04 PM.


The Harley-Davidson Riders Club of Great Britain

The Harley Davidson Riders Club Great Britain has no official connection to the Harley-Davidson Motor Company, we just ride their motorcycles and support the brand. All trademarks are acknowledged

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0