![]() | |
|
#1
| ||||
| ||||
| Picasa and Avast
I know that lots of you out there use Avast as your anti-virus protection. Maybe some of you have tried to use Googles 'picasa' for your photo management. If so has anyone had a virus warning from Avast that there is an infection - win32:xanax-c[wrm]. My Avast has taken the Picasa web exe file and dumped it in the 'vault' as being infrected. Quite pleased it works - but. Is it really infected or not. I have searched for info on this worm but can't find any, have looked on Google forums and have found threads defining the same thing but with no answer. So I have come to the 'FONT OF ALL KNOWLEDGE', aka hdrcgb forum, to ask the experts ![]() Strangely there is a anti depressant or diet pill called Xanax-C. And there is a known infection called Xanax. But WTF is it ![]() Old Bob
__________________ Old Bob ![]() |
|
#2
| ||||
| ||||
| Re: Picasa and Avast
Is that Avast as in Avast behind..lol.
__________________ He must have seen us..James Dean. |
|
#3
| ||||
| ||||
| Re: Picasa and Avast
Was this Picasa version 2.6.0.36.19 You can download this free from http://www.computeractive.co.uk/vnun...lated_articles Iknow this doesn't answer your main question but maybe something got in on original download.Worth a try for free. When I just checked above link I noticed it says "minor update". Maybe they screwed up on your version. Last edited by Limey_Dave; 16-02-2007 at 09:28 PM. |
|
#4
| ||||
| ||||
| Re: Picasa and Avast
According to various forums lots of people have had this same thing happen but so far as I can see there hasn't been an answer to it. So it's not just me ![]() Old Bob
__________________ Old Bob ![]() |
|
#5
| ||||
| ||||
| Re: Picasa and Avast
You don't think the "minor update" may be to solve some conflict? Is it not worth a try for free? |
|
#6
| ||||
| ||||
| Re: Picasa and Avast Quote:
It is logical that Google have removed the problem but why don't they tell people (not really a question, more a frustrated whinge )However I wanted to know if anyone had the same alarm, also if they had found evidence of the worm infection. It could be that some sponser of Google had an advert for some product with a similar name and that Avast had found it and assumed it was a virus. If so then well done Avast, even a false alarm is better than having an infected PC. If I was sensible I would say bo**ox to Google and use Photobucket or similar instead ---- but I'm not Old Bob
__________________ Old Bob ![]() |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |