The Harley-Davidson Riders Club Great Britain

+++ HARLEY-DAVIDSON RIDERS CLUB GREAT BRITAIN - ESTABLISHED 1949 +++


Go Back   The Harley-Davidson Riders Club Great Britain > Serious Discussion > Computer Q & A Tips/Advice & Security
©2000-2012 Harley-Davidson Riders Club

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:05 AM
loony loony is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 241
Re: Bios?

Clean Install Windows XP


you have an older type hard drive (IDE) so windows should recognise it and you wont need to press F6 and install an extra driver.

make sure you have your windows XP key to hand, this will be a 25 alpha numeric code. DFG88-GB5YT etc

One of the first things you will need to do is install the mother board driver including the network ethernet driver, when that is installed you can connect to the internet and download updates from microsofts website and any other drivers you will need.
dont go surfing around at this point until you have all windows up to date and some anti virus installed.
find out which motherboard is in thre system by looking for a model number and brand name.

post it here and I will search for the drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:28 AM
Dale's Avatar
Dale Dale is offline
Non Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 378
Re: Bios?

Quote:
Originally Posted by loony View Post
Clean Install Windows XP


you have an older type hard drive (IDE) so windows should recognise it and you wont need to press F6 and install an extra driver.

make sure you have your windows XP key to hand, this will be a 25 alpha numeric code. DFG88-GB5YT etc

One of the first things you will need to do is install the mother board driver including the network ethernet driver, when that is installed you can connect to the internet and download updates from microsofts website and any other drivers you will need.
dont go surfing around at this point until you have all windows up to date and some anti virus installed.
find out which motherboard is in thre system by looking for a model number and brand name.

post it here and I will search for the drivers.
hi i have sata drive, will this make any difference?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:38 AM
loony loony is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 241
Re: Bios?

yes, find the brand and model number on the motherboard.

in your earlier post it said

HDD ST3200822A

Barracuda 7200.7 | Seagate

Best post the model number that is written on the hard drive too.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:42 AM
loony loony is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 241
Re: Bios?

if it has a "S" on the end then it one of these,

Barracuda 7200.7 SATA | Seagate

in that case window may not recognise the HDD and you will need to install a SATA driver by pressing F6 at the start of the installation of XP.

These drivers are usually on a floppy disk that would have come with the mother board, providing you have a Floppy disk drive in PC to begin with.

Last edited by loony; 10-03-2011 at 10:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:10 AM
Dale's Avatar
Dale Dale is offline
Non Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 378
Re: Bios?

Quote:
Originally Posted by loony View Post
if it has a "S" on the end then it one of these,

Barracuda 7200.7 SATA | Seagate

in that case window may not recognise the HDD and you will need to install a SATA driver by pressing F6 at the start of the installation of XP.

These drivers are usually on a floppy disk that would have come with the mother board, providing you have a Floppy disk drive in PC to begin with.
blimey this is starting to make me dizzy lol

in my boot setting i have

1st boot hdd cdrom:3m-hl-dt-st
2nd removable dev
3rd hdd 3s maxtor stm3250310a

due to my lack of knowledge regarding computing in a desperate bid i tried to change the 1st boot can you confirm these are correct

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:20 AM
Roger's Avatar
Roger Roger is offline
HDRCGB Chairman
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5,348
Re: Bios?

Try this Dale
  • Insert the Windows XP CD into your CD drive and restart your computer.
  • When the text-based part of Setup begins, follow the prompts. Select the repair or recover option by pressing R.


  • If you have a dual-boot or multiboot system, select the installation that you want to access from the Recovery Console.


  • If you are prompted, type the Administrator password.
  • At the command prompt, type fixboot driveletter: usually C: so type fixboot c: and the enter key


  • When asked if you are sure, type Y and press the enter key


  • If successful, it should look like this


  • Type Exit and press enter
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:21 AM
loony loony is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 241
Re: Bios?

Yes if you want to boot from CD then thats the right order.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-03-2011, 01:05 PM
Dale's Avatar
Dale Dale is offline
Non Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 378
Re: Bios?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger View Post
Try this Dale
  • Insert the Windows XP CD into your CD drive and restart your computer.
  • When the text-based part of Setup begins, follow the prompts. Select the repair or recover option by pressing R.


  • If you have a dual-boot or multiboot system, select the installation that you want to access from the Recovery Console.


  • If you are prompted, type the Administrator password.
  • At the command prompt, type fixboot driveletter: usually C: so type fixboot c: and the enter key


  • When asked if you are sure, type Y and press the enter key


  • If successful, it should look like this


  • Type Exit and press enter
Hi Roger
thanks for the info, problem is when i put the cd in i don't get an option to repair or install, it appears to start to load the basics and then stops and gives me the warning i mentioned earlier, i hate to be beaten by this sort of thing but i have to hold my hands up and admit i am out of my depth here, i will bow down to the great knowledge and take it to a man that can.
thanks for all the advice from yourself and loony its much appreciated, and hopefully i have not wasted too much of your time

cheers
Dale
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-03-2011, 01:16 PM
Roger's Avatar
Roger Roger is offline
HDRCGB Chairman
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5,348
Re: Bios?

That's a shame. You could try going into the BIOS and restore factory settings
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-03-2011, 01:30 PM
loony loony is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 241
Re: Bios?

Try reseating all the components on the motherboard too.

Ram, Graphics card, just make sure they are all free of dust and pushed right into the slots.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:30 PM.


The Harley-Davidson Riders Club of Great Britain

The Harley Davidson Riders Club Great Britain has no official connection to the Harley-Davidson Motor Company, we just ride their motorcycles and support the brand. All trademarks are acknowledged


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0