The Harley-Davidson Riders Club Great Britain

+++ HARLEY-DAVIDSON RIDERS CLUB GREAT BRITAIN - ESTABLISHED 1949 +++


Go Back   The Harley-Davidson Riders Club Great Britain > Technical > Twin Cam, TC88, TC96, TC103 & TC110
©2000-2012 Harley-Davidson Riders Club

Twin Cam, TC88, TC96, TC103 & TC110
Twin Cam

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-10-2007, 02:21 AM
Phil's Avatar
Phil Phil is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,143
Re: Stage 1 remap - how?

Um....I`m with Mark. Except....The bike in question is an 05. There are several dealer downloads available for an 05 still, no o2 sensors etc.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:36 AM
sproggy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Stage 1 remap - how?

Thanks for the advice - I'd become pretty convinced that a PC111 was the route to go (yes, the PC can set its own map but only when running in closed-loop mode with an O2 sensor - not sure that this applies to an 05 bike?) until Phil ruined it all

So you're saying that a dealer will still download a Stage 1 map to the ECU? I guess it all comes down to price, then - if they're going to charge £150 for the download they can go whistle and I'll get a PC111 with scope for the future. If it's cheaper than that I may go for the download for now to save the pennies in the short term. Think I may call another dealer to ask for a download price just for comparison.....
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:52 PM
db133
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Stage 1 remap - how?

I contacted Dockgate 20 and asked about a remap for a stage 1. I was told they don't do it because (your love this !) they are not allowed to use their equipment for tuning ! So I said I just wanted a remap etc as I have a SE stage I air filter I want to have fitted and again I was told they are not allowed to do it. So for me its going to be a PCIII usb and f*** them.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:19 PM
lawnmower's Avatar
lawnmower lawnmower is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,522
Re: Stage 1 remap - how?

PC 3 and your local dyno guy is the way forward regardless of O2 sensors etc.

Your right Phil (of course) but you forget the local dealer reluctance here

Thank you Phil
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-10-2007, 02:42 PM
sproggy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Stage 1 remap - how?

OK, I'm convinced - PC111 it is. I'll try one of their supplied 'standard' Stage 1 maps to start with and see how that goes.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-10-2007, 03:20 PM
Phil's Avatar
Phil Phil is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,143
Re: Stage 1 remap - how?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sproggy View Post
If they're going to charge £150 for the download they can go whistle and I'll get a PC111 with scope for the future.
Wow....$140 here.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-10-2007, 08:24 PM
Menace's Avatar
Menace Menace is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 554
Thumbs up Re: Stage 1 remap - how?

Just fitted secondhand P.C. preloaded with map for 06 roadking with V&H ovals,
S.E.filter, revextend to 6200.Runs Faultless pulls cleanly thru all gears & revs
seem endless. No need for a dyno run. Just hold on tight.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-10-2007, 08:35 PM
Mr B's Avatar
Mr B Mr B is online now
Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,232
Re: Stage 1 remap - how?

If you can't find a map for the PC that works quite right for you, just email tech support at Dynojet and give them the symptoms that you are experiencing and the map you're using...they'll alter it and email it back. I did this, and my new custom map works fine.

Brian.
__________________
100 Anniversary Road King Classic.

Anglia Region 15 member.

My old man always said if it has tits or tyres...it'll be trouble...and he was right.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 15-10-2007, 11:23 AM
Menace's Avatar
Menace Menace is offline
Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 554
Question Re: Stage 1 remap - how?

I've now done 200mls. after doing a stage 1 on my road king using second hand parts, all seems to be running well, but hey what do I know. I'm thinking of getting it checked out- fine tuned by somebody who is more knowledgable than me. Main dealer not to interested as they did not supply the parts,any advice welcome. Steve Piper is local to me any one had dealings with him?
As I am a newbie to this site and computors in general I would hope not offend anyone,
if I do please feel free to bo££ock me.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 15-10-2007, 11:37 AM
sproggy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Stage 1 remap - how?

I see there's a company in Jersey selling PC111s for £230 - that's about a £70 saving on UK RRP and they're claimed to be UK models with full warranty. Makes it even easier to choose a PC!

(Link here for anyone who's interested - not a recommendation or anything as I haven't used them....yet.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:15 AM.


The Harley-Davidson Riders Club of Great Britain

The Harley Davidson Riders Club Great Britain has no official connection to the Harley-Davidson Motor Company, we just ride their motorcycles and support the brand. All trademarks are acknowledged


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0