Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Metric owner seriously considering a Harley TC

Total Downloaded

Metric owner seriously considering a Harley TC

Hi new member here.
    Short background:

Always loved cruiser motorbikes. I've been riding now for 7 years. Started and passed my tests on a GZ125, then got a Virago 535 and finally my current Suzuki C800 intruder.
    But we all know these bikes are Jap copy cats of HD's, just cheaper.

I'm really liking the look of the Fatboy and looking to buy used, so I have a few questions if you dont mind:

1. Which model year should I be looking at? IIRC the bad cam chain tensioners were upgraded from 08 onwards on the FB to dual hydraulic ones with a roller chain.
    2. Which model year does the bike have ABS and preferably an immobiliser to reduce risk of theft?
    3. Which engine should I go for?
    4. How are these bikes (stock) for long distance riding. I typically enjoy fairly long rides, say 150-200 miles a stretch, camp somewhere and ride around the country. On my current bike I have a windshield and saddlebags with a rack which gives me plenty of storage space for tents and things like that. So as long as the bike can do all this I'd be happy. Which leads me onto:
    5. How easy are aftermarket or genuine HD SPARE parts and accessories to get in this country? It seems a lot of stuff you really have to dig around for to find a supplier.
    6. Any other potential problems to look out for on this bike? I strictly want to keep it stock except a stage 1, no changing cams or anything like that for me. In fact the less maintenance the better. Im fairly competent at mechanics however, changed a bike clutch before, do regular oil changes, brake pads, all that stuff. But removing cam bearings and stuff like that I dont like the sound of.